Texas Democrats Congratulate Local Candidates

Austin, TX --  Over the weekend, a number of cities across Texas held their runoff elections for local office.

Texas Democratic Party Chair Gilberto Hinojosa issued the following statement:

“Texas Democrats stepped up and challenged Trump Republicans in local elections all across our great state. They ran to win and build, but most importantly they ran to deliver progressive solutions and a fair shot for all Texans. This year’s results prove that when Democrats stand by our progressive values, engage our communities, work with our partners, and run well-resourced, grassroots campaigns, we can grow our base and win, even in gerrymandered districts designed for progressives to lose. 

“Texans are demanding change, and I am so proud progressive candidates are delivering. Congratulations to Pasadena Councilmember-elect Felipe Villarreal and to the many candidates we supported across the state. These campaigns have laid the groundwork for communities to demand real solutions, hold local officials accountable, and many future progressive candidacies.  

“Felicidades are also due to San Antonio’s new Mayor-elect Ron Nirenberg, new Councilmembers-elect John Courage, Manny Pelaez, and Cruz Shaw, and Councilmember Roberto Treviño. Democrats and Progressive voters have proved that San Antonio is a solidly blue city with 8 Democrats holding a supermajority over 2 Republicans on city council.

“We couldn’t be prouder of the great Democrats that ran for city councils, school boards, and mayoral offices. This is only the beginning, local communities can count on the state party to continue developing Project LIFT and our campaign support services program.”


Last month, the Texas Democratic Party extended congratulations to our Project LIFT (Local Investment in the Future of Texas) candidates. Project LIFT works with local party leaders and progressive partners to recruit, train, and support candidates – with a special focus on winning local, non-partisan races. Click here to see the publicly-endorsed candidates. 

Additional runoff endorsements were also announced earlier this month.The final runoff elections are set for June 17.


Press Contact

Tariq Thowfeek
(512) 766-9932

Email Updates


  1. $